The winner is FPT Industrial with its F28 2.8 liters engine

FPT Industrial is the winner of the Diesel of the Year 2020

Awarding Ceremony will at SaMoTer (Forum Area Hall 6)

FPT Industrial will be awarded again in Verona. At SaMoTer 2008 the F32 inaugurated the era of compact engines. The company won the Diesel of the Year another time, back in 2014, thanks to the Cursor 16. A further proof of the liveliness showed by the manufacturer belonging to the CNH Industrial Group, which has gradually become a primary supplier of OEM-oriented solutions.


The F28 follows the road of compact engines already taken by the 3.4 and 3.6 liter engines. Designed in compliance with the Stage V and Tier 4 Final standards, the F28 engine features a double aftertreatment formula. The DOC is coupled with the DPF for the European market, while a ‘DOC-only’ system is fully compliant with the EPA standard. Thanks to its 375 Nm maximum torque, the engine reaches the highest rate provided by the competitors. The specific torque is 133.5 Nm. Among the most relevant features are the integrated EGRs and a low-height axle solution, so to make the engine more compact and simplify its installation on the vehicles. The latter, either on the fields or, sometimes, in construction sites, have to cope with quite a short steering radius. Besides, its ease of maintenance, with the possibility to intervene on only one side of the engine as well as with oil replacement intervals of 600 hours, makes it possible to reduce operational costs. A particularly innovative feature of the 4-cylinder engine, which makes it truly oriented to sustainability, is the eclectic nature of the F28. The diesel unit was unveiled together with its natural gas twin, in search of modularity.

According to FPT Industrial: “The interfaces are the same and the gas version is about to be tested on some demos in agriculture. We only have to implement a few functions on the machine, such as the tanks”.


Since 2006, the Diesel of the Year has been awarding an industrial engine. The main parameters taken into consideration by the jury are innovation, as well as compactness, specific power, specific torque and aftertreatment systems.


Source: Diesel Magazine


Components Engines and Spare Parts